position:Home > About China > Folk & Folklore

56 Ethnic Groups

Source:   Date of Release:

In addition to Han Chinese, there are 55 ethnic minorities, among which Zhuang, Man, Hui, Miao, Uighur, Tujia, Yi, Mongolian and Tibetan groups are big ones in populations of over five million each, the others are in smaller sizes, like Buyi, Dong, Yao, Korean, Bai, Hani, Kazak, Li and Dai in populations of over one million, She, Lisu, Gelao, Dongxiang, Lahu, Shui, Wa, Naxi, Qiang, Tu, Mulao, Sibo, Kirgiz, Daur, Jingpo, Maonan and Salar in a size of over one hundred thousand, Bulang, Tajik, Achang, Pumi, Ewenki, Nu, Jing, Jino, De'ang, Bonan, Russian, Yugurs, Uzbek, Monba, Oroqen, Dulong, Tatar, Hezhe, Gaoshan and Loba, less than one hundred thousand. The population of Han exceeds over 1.1 billion and is distributed throughout the country. The other ethnic groups in large populations often distribute in several provinces and those in smaller populations often concentrate in one or two provinces. Of course, there are exceptions, such as Uighurs, they have over eight million people and almost all of them reside in Xinjiang.

Print】 【Close
Contact us
All rights reserved ICP Registred Number 05013371 Tel:010-65548998 Fax:010-65548856 Email:cccwa@cccwa.cn